Thursday, July 25, 2024
HomeXFINITY SeriesTyler Reddick Wins Record-Breaking Daytona XFINITY Series Race

Tyler Reddick Wins Record-Breaking Daytona XFINITY Series Race

Tyler Reddick stole the victory in the NASCAR XFINITY Series Powershares QQQ 300 at the Daytona International Speedway. It’s his second XFINITY Series win, and his first for JR Motorsports, in his first race with the team. The race featured a record-breaking twelve caution flags, including five overtime attempts. The first stage featured one caution, the second featured none. However, the final stage piled on the yellows.

The race’s first wreck happened early, as lap ten ended. It started when Austin Cindric got loose in the middle of a three-wide situation. He pinballed between Daniel Suarez on his outside and Tyler Reddick on his inside, before careening in front of several cars, collecting Brandon Jones, Ryan Reed, and Christopher Bell. Cindric’s car had been noticeably loose all race, and it seemed that it was only a matter of time before something went wrong. Kyle Larson took the first stage win as the field spread out, splitting into two packs.

Stage two was intense, with lots of lane changes and blocking up front, but, by some miracle, featured no cautions. Chase Elliott won that second stage.

In the final stage, the blocking and lane changes became even more intense, but they kept their cars intact… for a while, at least. The pack tore up a few cars a bit later in that final stage when Ryan Truex got pushed under the double yellow line. Truex saved it, but Cole Custer, Joey Gase, Daniel Hemric, and others wrecked trying to avoid Truex as he slid back up onto the banking. Ryan Reed was black-flagged for bumping Truex under that double-yellow line. Also penalized were Chase Elliott and Elliott Sadler for locking bumpers just prior to that wreck.

A couple laps after the restart, Garrett Smithley and Michael Annett spun. Annett was also involved in the previous crash. Smithley continued, but Annett tore his splitter up in the grass and would not continue. Less than a lap after the ensuing restart, Vinnie Miller slammed the wall after cutting in front of Josh Williams.

With only three laps to go, Elliott Sadler spun off the nose of Chase Elliott, but he was the only one involved. Sadler didn’t hit anything, but did flatten a couple of tires. This sent the race to overtime.

The biggest wreck of the day came when Aric Almirola and Kyle Larson got together as Larson tried to hold the lead. 18 cars were involved, which is nearly half the field. This brought names like Ryan Truex, Jeff Green, Spencer Gallagher, Ross Chastain, and Alex Labbe into the fray. Daniel Suarez inherited the lead, but he ran out of gas under caution, handing the lead to Ryan Reed.

On the second attempt at overtime, Spencer Gallagher spun and Ryan Reed lost the lead. Ryan Truex passed Tyler Reddick just before the caution came out.

Another wreck occurred just short of the white flag on the third overtime attempt. The crash involved Kyle Larson and Ryan Ellis, among others. The caution flew just feet before Tyler Reddick got the white flag.

On the fourth overtime attempt, Dylan Lupton’s car decided to break, sending him into the wall, and ordering another overtime restart. That made five overtime attempts and twelve cautions, breaking the XFINITY series record for both. NASCAR decided to put out the red flag, considering fuel might come into the picture if they kept running under yellow. On the fifth and final overtime restart, they finally kept it clean, and Tyler Reddick eked out Sadler at the line.

UPDATE: The finish was officially the closest ever, at a margin of victory of 0.000 seconds. In other words, it was a tie broken by video evidence.

Here are the full results from the NASCAR XFINITY Series Powershares QQQ 300:

  1. Tyler Reddick
  2. Elliott Sadler
  3. Ryan Reed
  4. Kaz Grala
  5. Garrett Smithley
  6. Spencer Gallagher
  7. Ryan Truex
  8. Daniel Suarez
  9. Ross Chastain
  10. Brandon Jones
  11. Jeff Green
  12. Chase Elliott
  13. Caesar Bacarella
  14. Cole Custer
  15. Stephen Leicht
  16. Jeremy Clements
  17. David Starr
  18. JJ Yeley
  19. Matt Tifft
  20. Vinnie Miller
  21. Ryan Sieg
  22. Josh Williams
  23. Joe Nemechek
  24. Alex Labbe
  25. Spencer Boyd
  26. Daniel Hemric
  27. Dylan Lupton
  28. Chad Finchum
  29. Kyle Larson
  30. Ryan Ellis
  31. Justin Allgaier
  32. Austin Dillon
  33. Joey Gase
  34. Joey Logano
  35. Aric Almirola
  36. Brandon Brown
  37. Michael Annett
  38. Gray Gaulding
  39. Christopher Bell
  40. Austin Cindric


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Pat Kilpatrick on NASCAR’S MOST WANTED…
Dana Flowers on NASCAR’S Most Dreaded
David Allen on NASCAR’S Most Dreaded