Allgaier Wins XFINITY Series Pole at Phoenix

Justin Allgaier won the pole for the XFINITY Series DC Solar 200 at ISM Raceway. He ran a lap around the circuit in 26.896 seconds (133.849 MPH). It’s his sixth career XFINITY series pole, and his first at Phoenix. Cup regular Brad Keselowski will start beside Allgaier in the race.

With less than three minutes remaining in the first round, Tyler Reddick slid up the track and slammed the wall in turn three, sending the 22-year-old to a backup car. He would climb out okay, but will start from the rear in the race. Cole Custer led the first round of qualifying with a lap time of 27.316 seconds (131.791 MPH). Notables that missed out advancing to the 24-car second round were Garrett Smithley (31st), Vinnie Miller (33rd), Spencer Boyd (34th), and Tyler Reddick (40th).

Elliott Sadler, who ran 18th quickest in round one, blew an engine in Friday’s practice, so he elected not to make a run in the second round, since he’ll start at the back of the field in the race regardless. The round one run allowed the team to have better pit stall selection next weekend at Fontana. Again, Cole Custer ran fastest, this time he ran a time of 27.045 seconds (133.111 MPH). Austin Cindric (13th), Ty Dillon (14th), Michael Annett (15th), and Elliott Sadler (24th) missed advancing to the 12-car final round.

Justin Allgaier was able to run fastest in the final round, with a time of 26.896 seconds, faster than any in the session. Allgaier won the spring race at Phoenix in 2017 as well, and looks for his second career win at the one mile oval at 3:30 PM eastern.

Here is the full starting lineup for the DC Solar 200 at ISM Raceway:

  1. Justin Allgaier
  2. Brad Keselowski (Cup)
  3. Cole Custer
  4. Christopher Bell (Rookie)
  5. Kyle Busch (Cup)
  6. Jamie McMurray (Cup)
  7. Ryan Truex
  8. Daniel Hemric
  9. Matt Tifft
  10. Brandon Jones
  11. Ryan Reed
  12. Spencer Gallagher
  13. Austin Cindric (Rookie)
  14. Ty Dillon (Cup)
  15. Michael Annett
  16. JJ Yeley
  17. Kaz Grala (Rookie)
  18. Ross Chastain
  19. Joey Gase
  20. Dylan Lupton
  21. Jeremy Clements
  22. Alex Labbe
  23. Ryan Sieg
  24. Elliott Sadler
  25. Jeff Green
  26. BJ McLeod
  27. Tommy Joe Martins
  28. Josh Williams
  29. Morgan Shepherd
  30. David Starr
  31. Garrett Smithley
  32. Stephen Leicht
  33. Vinnie Miller (Rookie)
  34. Spencer Boyd (Rookie)
  35. Matt Mills (Rookie)
  36. Chad Finchum (Rookie)
  37. Mike Harmon
  38. Timmy Hill
  39. Josh Bilicki (Rookie)
  40. Tyler Reddick (Rookie)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *