Martin Truex Jr. won the pole for the TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway. Truex ran a lap around the “Desert Mile” in a time of 26.288 seconds (136.945 MPH). He will start beside Kyle Larson, who ran 0.058 seconds slower than Truex. It’s Truex’s 16th career pole and his second at ISM Raceway.

In the 40-car first round, Jeffrey Earnhardt smacked the outside wall, which caused a red flag at the 3:26 mark. Earnhardt would climb out okay, but his car would need repairs, and Earnhardt would not make a run, and will start last on Sunday. Jimmie Johnson led the first round with a time of 26.544 seconds (135.624 MPH). Notables that missed out advancing to the 24-car second round were Brad Keselowski (25th), Darrell Wallace Jr. (27th), and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (29th). Kurt Busch jumped into the top 24 in a last ditch effort, bumping Keselowski out.

Kyle Larson led round two with a time of 26.400 seconds (136.364 MPH). Notables that missed advancing to the 12-car round three were Ryan Newman (13th), Paul Menard (14th), Daniel Suarez (15th), Jimmie Johnson (17th), Clint Bowyer (19th), and Kurt Busch (23rd). In a last-second try, William Byron was able to jump into the top 12, bumping Ryan Newman.

Truex would run a blistering lap in the final round, claiming the pole by over five one hundredths of a second. Truex has only led 11 laps this season, and hopes to add quite a few to that total in the TicketGuardian 500 on Sunday, March 11, at 3:30 PM eastern time.

Here is the complete lineup for the TicketGuardian 500 at ISM Raceway:

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Kyle Larson
  3. Chase Elliott
  4. Alex Bowman
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Jamie McMurray
  9. Erik Jones
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. William Byron
  12. Ryan Blaney
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Paul Menard
  15. Daniel Suarez
  16. David Ragan
  17. Jimmie Johnson
  18. Austin Dillon
  19. Clint Bowyer
  20. AJ Allmendinger
  21. Trevor Bayne
  22. Aric Almirola
  23. Kurt Busch
  24. Chris Buescher
  25. Brad Keselowski
  26. Kasey Kahne
  27. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  28. Ty Dillon
  29. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  30. Matt DiBenedetto
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. Gray Gaulding
  33. Corey LaJoie
  34. D.J. Kennington
  35. Timmy Hill
  36. Ross Chastain
  37. Jeffrey Earnhardt